Beekman Cannon Friends of Music Prize

The Beekman Cannon Friends of Music Prize honors and recognizes scholarship and creative imagination in the field of music. It is awarded to that senior in any undergraduate department at Yale who has done distinguished work in an intensive major and who submits the best senior essay on a musical subject, or a musical composition exhibiting unusual originality and promise. Recent winners include:

2018 – Max Vinetz, composition and Miles Walter, composition
2017 – Emma Hathaway, music history
2016 – Dominic Coles, composition
2015 – Benji Goldsmith, composition, and Nate Barnett, composition
2014 – Baldwin Giang, composition, and Maxwell Ramage, composition
2013 – Nicholas Bleisch, music history, and Julian de Freitas, music cognition
2012 – Emily Cooley, composition, and Oliver Hill, music theory
2011 – Ellis Ludwig-Leone, composition
2010 – Lucy Fitz Gibbon, music history
2009 – Paul Sherril, music theory
2008 – David DeAngelis, music history
2007 – Andrew McManus, composition
2006 – Eric Nathan, composition
2005 – Alexander Temple, composition
2004 – Jonathan Boschetto, music history
2003 – Mark Seto, music history
2002 – Evan Johnson, composition
2001 – Matthew Croasmun, composition
2000 – Paul Berry, music history
1999 – Jason Freeman, composition